Peter Turner Memorial Lecture & Scholarship

Each year the College of Creative Arts brings an internationally significant photographic historian, theorist or artist to Wellington to deliver the annual Peter Turner Memorial Lecture.

The lecture has been established in the memory of the late Peter Turner - photographic historian, curator, author, editor, publisher and teacher. Associated with the memorial lecture is a Masters scholarship in Peter Turner’s name in documentary photography at Whiti o Rehua School of Art, Massey University.

The scholarship and memorial lecture series were launched in 2008 and are supported by a funds appeal. Donations to the fund may be made to the Massey University Foundation.

For details of the 2013 lecture click here to view the (Pdf) and click here to view the event listing.

Guest lecturers

2013 - Geoffrey Batchen
2012 - William Yang

2011 - Cathie Opie

2010 - Thomas Ruff 

2009 - Anne Marsh 

2008 - Helen Ennis

In 2012 and 2013 an accompanying day symposium has also been held with international and New Zealand speakers.

Peter Turner Memorial Scholarship

Associated with the memorial lecture, the Peter Turner Memorial Scholarship is a Masters scholarship in documentary photography at the Massey University School of Fine Arts. Click here for the application form.

Scholarship winners
2013 - Tam Webster
2012 - Johanna Mechan
2011 - Jonathan Kay

2010 - Shaun Waugh

2009 - Olivia Taylor

2008 - Andrew Ivory